How to Become CISSP-Certified

A CISSP certification, also known as a Certified Information System Security Professional certificate, is an advanced accreditation level that necessitates extensive knowledge of information security practises and procedures. It is a globally recognised certification that can assist you in defining the controls, architecture, design, and management of highly secure environments in your organisation.

If you’re interested in obtaining this certification, continue reading to learn more about how you can obtain the prerequisites and knowledge required to pass this exam.

Certification Requirements

It’s critical to determine whether or not taking the CISSP exam is the best option for you before making a decision to do so. The Internet is full of CISSP training courses, but they will be of no use to you if they do not match the job you currently hold or the job you hope to hold in the future. Before taking the CISSP exam, make sure you’ve done your homework in these areas:

Must have five years of work experience in at least two of the eight domains of the CISSP certification.
Bachelor’s degree in a related field or four years of equivalent work experience is required.
If you hold a (ISC)2 certification, you may be able to reduce your required work experience.
To pass the CISSP, it’s best to first pass the primary level of the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA), Cisco Certified Enterprise Hacker (CEH), CompTIA Security+, CISA, or Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISM).
Professionals who work as network and security architects, security consultants or managers, security auditors, or IT directors are all eligible to take this exam as well.

The CISSP Domains

Let’s take a look at the eight domains that will be covered as topics on the test in detail. Successful candidates must be proficient in at least two of these areas in order to pass the test.

Basic security policies, regulations, ethics, compliance laws, and threat modelling are covered in the Security and Risk Management course.
Understanding asset security entails learning how to deal with the protection and collection of assets such as devices and data, among other things.
Security Engineering: There is a strong emphasis on security models, architecture, physical security, and cryptography in security engineering.
Network architectures, security measures used to achieve the CIA (confidentiality, integrity, and availability) in organisations, and transition methods are all part of communication and network security.
Identity and Access Management (IAM) is primarily concerned with identification, access control, authorization, and security countermeasures, among other things.
Security Assessment and Testing: This includes learning how to test in the event that something goes wrong, which includes security control assessment, audits, and testing reports.

Benefits of Becoming CISSP Certified

Security Operations: This department is responsible for logging and monitoring, investigations, change management, and disaster recovery procedures.
Software Development Security (SDS) is comprised of security measures that cover the entire development lifecycle, such as Spyware, Malware, API, SQL, and social engineering attacks, among other things.
It is critical to thoroughly research all of these topics in order to perform well on the CISSP exam.

Important Information About the CISSP Exam

There are a variety of reasons to pursue CISSP certification, including the opportunity to obtain one of the most highly sought-after certifications in the information security field. As a result of its high demand, you will earn an average salary of $131,000 per year, with a salary increase that is higher than in most other tech industries, on average. You will also gain a comprehensive understanding of cybersecurity.

Important Information Regarding the CISSP Certification Exam
The CISSP exam, which was developed by the International Information Security Certification Consortium, is a straightforward online or in-person examination. It can, however, take up to 6 hours to complete the task.

If you fail the exam, you’ll have to pay another 700 dollars, which you’ll have to do again.
Answering 250 questions in 6 hours will be a challenge for you.
There are only multiple-choice questions in this section.
To pass, you must receive a minimum of 700 points out of 1000.
The questions on the exam are divided into eight domains, which are listed below.
It is critical to begin studying as soon as possible in order to be well prepared for this exam (at most 3 months before the exam date). It’s also advantageous if you have experience in other areas of information technology because that knowledge will be useful during the test.